Executive Officer for the Montana Board of Pharmacy selected for DLI Governor’s Award

  • — September 16 2019

HELENA — Montana Governor Steve Bullock today presented the 2019 Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Performance to state employees. Executive Officer for the Montana Board of Pharmacy Marcie Bough was presented with the individual 2019 Montana Department of Labor & Industry (DLI) Governor’s Award for her contributions to the Department’s success.

“We are thrilled to present Marcie with this excellence award. Her dedication, drive, and commitment to her profession has directly benefitted the health of all Montanans,” DLI Commissioner Galen Hollenbaugh said. “Through her expertise, Marcie has single handedly led the Montana Prescription Drug Registry and collaborated with health care officials and others to implement new ways to combat opioid abuse across Montana.”

Montana Lieutenant Governor Mike Cooney, Commissioner Hollenbaugh, and DLI Deputy Commissioner Kathleen O’Leary also presented Bough with her individual award at a separate DLI employee appreciation event on Friday, Sept. 6.

The Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Performance are presented annually to employees across the state who have gone above and beyond in their duties within Montana’s government. 

Bough is responsible for the Montana Prescription Drug Registry (MPDR), a vital tool for health care providers to ensure patient safety across the state of Montana.

A Highwood native, Bough has been with DLI since 2013. As the Department’s primary liaison with the Montana Legislature for prescription drug management policy issues, Bough’s work contributed to the passage of Senate Bill 61 and House Bill 86, two major prescription drug management bills that passed during the 2019 Legislature. 

The DLI Governor’s Awards are presented in two categories – individual and group. Other individual nominees for the award were Labor Mediator Max Hallfrisch, Business and Security Analyst Brett Nielsen, and Missoula Job Service Manager Kelly Ann Deniger. 

“This year, as in past years, we have an abundance of outstanding examples of leadership, collaboration, commitment, hard work, creativity, accountability, innovation, and integrity,” Commissioner Hollenbaugh said. “I’m proud that our DLI team continually employs these characteristics to serve our fellow Montanans.” 

The group winner of the 2019 DLI Governor’s Award was presented to the Formulary Core Team of Cindy Zimmerman, Adrianne McLean, Bri Lake, Kristine Ediger, Celeste Ackerman, Emily Healy, Karen Wiles, Jennifer Hepfner, Mark Cadwallader, Lindi Mandy, Maggie Cook-Shimanek, and Bill Wheeler. SB 312 from the 2017 Legislative Session authorized DLI to implement a workers’ compensation drug formulary to become part of the utilization and treatment guidelines. Over the course of 24 months, the Formulary Core Team worked collaboratively and transparently with all stakeholders to implement this important initiative.

Contact Sam Loveridge: Public Information Officer, Department of Labor and Industry
Back To Top